I whisper your name (ayradyss) wrote,
I whisper your name

  • Mood:

Random geek moment...

Mailbox is being beseiged with virus-laden spam from addresses I do not recognise. Today, I got a second bounce stating that I had sent a virus-laden e-mail and would I please scan my system.
I do not have the MyDoom or Novarg viruses on my computer. I've full-scanned it three times to be certain, and I never open unknown attachments. My virus definitions are very much up to date. But the bounce today included full headers from the bounced message.
Full headers include the following:
Return-Path: The person to whom a bounce or reply should be sent.
Received: from The nominal domain and IP address of the sending server by The name and mail agent of the receiving server...</i>

The bounce headers included the following:
Return-path: < vita(at)mistwalker.org >
Received: from [A.B.C.D] (helo=mistwalker.org) by zipper.fastforwardnetwork.com with esmtp (Exim 4.24)

Mistwalker.org's IP address is W.X.Y.Z, not A.B.C.D. I am certain of this; as certain as I am that whoever is taking 'helo mistwalker.org' as authentication is being misled.
A.B.C.D resolves to an IP address on the home.cgocable.net network. Interestingly enough, http://www.cgocable.net times out and does not resolve. Even more interestingly, the last two items of virus-laden spam e-mail I've gotten (the only two since I thought to check headers on them) originate from A.B.C.D.

So, if any of you out there have the vita e-mail address in your book and are using cgocable.net for your ISP, please check your computer. Please please please. There's a removal tool right here.

  • On the Road...

    We'll be heading out on Saturday for a month-long mission trip to Papua New Guinea. Committed to trying to blog daily while there - will be sharing…

  • Drive-By posting: Miriam

    In case anyone is wondering what my daughter is up to these days, here she is! In other news, today was an ER day from hell, and I'm going to bed…

  • (no subject)

    Sauntered in at 0730 with the intention of meeting fellowship director, who gives a lie to the old-dogs-new-tricks mantra, for a little chat about…

  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded